How do I be a confident person?

Happy Day dear readers, I’m back to blogging again after some time. It’s my heart wanted me to write this blog post, I’m just super excited to share my journey of gaining confidence in everything I do (be it performing tasks at my workplace, working with my freelance clients, conducting interview sessions with professionals & students, liaising with newer people for new projects, writing blog posts, uploading Youtube Videos in my channel and guiding students for their exams).

Dear beautiful readers, allow me to share a little flash back about myself who was this very unconfident teenager who never speaks what I feel since school time. Schooling period was something I enjoyed being accompanied myself, I’m the kind of teenager that doesn’t even speak to the person who is next to me unless they start the conversation with me. This was me for quite a number of years until I graduated from my secondary school.

I started to speak up when I was in tertiary education (college period), but that was also within my teammates and friends who I’m comfortable with. To increase my confidence, I joined some clubs in my college so that I will not be so awkward when talking to someone new. I made good friends, however, I was still lacking confidence in giving presentations or talk shows out there when all the eyes from the public is focusing on us.

One of the best part of my life was meeting these group of entrepreneurs in Malaysia (my home country) called ET Ideas. These people were crazy and happy people, I really like being around them, their vibes are extremely positive and happy all the time. Each of them pursue the goals their heart wants and be confident at whatever they do even it was something you will come across in life, for example doing Henna Art for Bridals as a full time job. Without me realizing, I was naturally becoming someone who I always wanted to be which means sharing my knowledge or experience which I have with outsiders, complete strangers and unknown people. I was super confident when I share about myself, I guess it’s just the vibes being around them. I continued to do every task as if I already knew how to do it.

Let me stop how I started my journey from being the not so confident person until a little confident person. To make this blog post more exciting, I’m going to share in the perspectives of students, fresh graduates, entrepreneur and employees based on my experience. But guys, I’m still learning to be better every single day, still long way to go.

Students

Since I’m also an ACCA Tutor guiding students for their exams in F8 – Audit and Assurance & P7 – Advanced Audit and Assurance, I wanted to focus on these type of students.

How are you going to gain confidence before sitting for the exam? I’m very sure many students are having this in your mind right now.

Trust me for any kind of exam you are sitting, it is all about how’s your mindset when you are doing your exams –> Were you confident or were you so scared during the entire exam?

Few things I did when I was sitting for exams, this might or might not help you, apply which suits you, maybe just pick one and apply directly at the moment.

  1. Make sure I have done my full revision 3 days before the exam date.
  2. One day before the exam, I will take a piece of clean white paper and write down whatever I can remember from the syllabus starting from the keywords, marking scheme and weaknesses of each topic I have.
  3. Talk to someone who can boost your confidence up and share your feelings with regards of the exam.
  4. Two days before the exam, grab some popcorn and watch your favorite movie (for me is always 3 Idiots), if you haven’t watched it, please go and watch it. There are so many lessons for you to learn.
My Graduation Picture with Mom

FRESH GRADUATES

I have been in your shoes too, let me share my experience when I was a fresh graduate looking for a job. Let me share my second job interview which I’m still working at currently but now as part time accountant.

I still can remember very clearly on the interview day, I told to my employer what I wanted to be in few years time. He shared about the expectations that he was looking from me and I also told what was my goal which was to be an entrepreneur in this field very soon. That was the first time he said, wowwww, that’s an awesome goal. Dear fresh graduates, remember even if you feel you are not there yet, putting yourself out there to your employer your bigger goals will give him some confidence in you that you will be able to do the tasks. Speak up based on heart, and that is what I always do at my workplace, if you feel this is not right, speak to your superior and let him/her know why are you viewing like this and ask for their opinions on why is this being done in such way.

EMPLOYEES

Work from heart guys…..hahahaha……Choose what you love having fun at, then choose that as your career, naturally you will be so confident in that field. If you haven’t figure it out like me initially, it’s okie keep doing whatever you are doing, by being patient also you can gain confidence in yourself.

Apart from doing my tasks at my work, I also view on how I can add value to the firm I’m working at, for example, I realised the firm I was working at doesn’t have a professional website, then I suggested to my employer to do a website for their firm and guess what he approved and I was so excited to work on that project from planning and getting the vendor to do the website. Trust me I’m not so good in all of this but I just wanted to add value to the company I was working at, I slowly started to be more confident in sharing my viewpoints with my employer. However, I was very fortunate to have such leader who patiently listen to my ideas. Slowly, he empowered me to do what I love apart from working in his firm.

Confidence always is within yourself guys, don’t find somewhere else. hahahaha…… I slowly begin to understand this.

Confident picture of mine!!!!

Entrepreneurs

Based on my opinion, I feel being entrepreneur means you are confident because taking the decision itself needs a lot of courage and guts because you are now under control of you own.

No more waiting for your monthly salary from your employers or orders from them anymore. You need to do it by your own. Not everyone can also be an entrepreneur.

The first mindset that needs to build is the confidence. I’m able to do what I love to do confidently.

Maybe I can share what I do every morning the first thing I wake up which is repeating my goals and reading my goal card. Doing that itself helps me to get the boost for myself.

I’m currently in this stage as I always wanted to be one, but I only have read and listen to other entrepreneur. Now, it’s time for me to apply what I have learned so far. One of the most important thing that I’m being confident at is sharing about my services to others. So how this happened is I always occupied myself with people who are confident and watch videos about being confident (& apply on the spot) if not I’m just accumulating more theory in myself.

I will share about my journey of being an entrepreneur in coming blog posts.

Thank you for reading this far. Hope this helped you in some ways.

With Love,

Laavannya Sugumar

Founder of Crazy Geek

Leave a comment